GMAT Overview

Pragya Sharma ✅

Pragya Sharma ✅

Co-Founder @ Ace My Prep & Study Abroad Expert


What Is the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT)?

The GMAT, which stands for the graduate management admission test, is a standardized test intended to measure a test taker’s aptitude in mathematics, verbal skills, and analytical writing. The GMAT is most commonly used as the primary exam reviewed by business schools to gain entrance into an MBA program. The exam is generally offered by computer only; in areas of the world where computer networks are limited, the exam may be given as a paper-based test.


The GMAT exam consists of four sections: analytical writing assessment, verbal reasoning, integrated reasoning, and quantitative reasoning.

The maximum score achievable for the GMAT is 800, and exam scores are generally valid for five years following the exam’s completion.

On average, the exam takes three and one-half hours to complete.

How the Graduate Management Admission Test Is Evaluated

The Graduate Management Admission Council administers the exam. In addition to testing comprehension of writing and math, the GMAT is also used to assess an individual’s critical reasoning skills and logic as applicable to business and management in the real world. Starting in 2012, the exam added a section called Integrated Reasoning, which assesses an individual’s evaluation skills for dealing with information gathered from multiple sources and in new formats. This section also intends to test students in the context of working with data and technology.

Requirements for the GMAT

Every year, over 200,000 individuals take the GMAT. It costs $275 to sign up in the U.S. Due to the popular nature of the admissions test, GMATs are offered almost every day of the year and can be taken every 16 calendar days. However, the test can be taken no more than eight times total, and no more than five times in a 12-month period.

 Most applicants take the exam once or twice before applying. 

Browse Top Study Abroad Destinations